Broad-leaved Geebung Broad-leaved Geebung (Persoonia levis)
BMCS logo
Blue Mountains
City Council Election
4 December 2021
an environmental perspective of the election

Gazette ad 17 November Gazette ad 24 November
We asked the lead candidates in each ward 19 questions on key Blue Mountains environmental issues.

We also asked them what they intended to do for the environment if elected (statement of personal conservation values).

Out of the 14 candidates, 9 responded to our questionnaire.

The responses have been compiled for each ward with a link to each candidate’s response. A combined response webpage has also been prepared. The responses have been reviewed and a summary prepared.

Links to these webpages are shown in the menu box at the top of this webpage.

The Society would like to thank all the candidates who responded to the questionnaire.

Our Gazette article on the absence of responses from one major party.

Make your vote count! - an article on optional preferential voting.

Gazette ad 17 November Gazette ad 17 November
Pre‑poll voting opened on Monday 22 November.

There are pre‑poll booths in Katoomba, Springwood and Blaxland. They're open from 9am until 5pm Monday to Saturday. They are all multi-ward booths. They all have wheelchair access.

The Society does not recommend or support parties or individual candidates.

For more information about the election, go to the Council website.

Here's the NSW Electoral Commission's COVID-19 safety measures at venues.

Lead* Candidates
in ballot paper order
(* first candidate in group)
Ward 1
Kevin SCHREIBERLiberal
Sarah REDSHAWThe Greens
Ward 2
Joanne BROMILOWLiberal
Chris VAN DER KLEYIndependent
Brent HOAREThe Greens
Ward 3
Kingsley LIUThe Greens
Mick FELLLabor
Daniel MYLESIndependent
Roza SAGELiberal
Ward 4
Peter O'TOOLEIndependent
Brendan CHRISTIELiberal
Council Map and Wards

The Blue Mountains City Council area is divided into 4 wards. Each ward is represented by 3 Councillors.

Ward 1Mt Victoria to Leura (incl. Mt Wilson)
Ward 2Wentworth Falls to Faulconbridge
Ward 3Springwood to Valley Heights (incl. Winmalee)
Ward 4Warrimoo to Lapstone (incl. Mt Riverview)

Here's a map of the wards.

Conservation Articles

Here's a series of Hut News articles that provide a background to conservation considerations and concerns of our city within a world heritage area.

© 2021  Blue Mountains Conservation Society Inc.
We acknowledge the traditional custodians of this land
– the Darug and Gundungurra people –
and pay respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.
website by Waratah Software